Athletica Studio, Montreal Gym, functional training, train for life, mind & body
Francisco Davila, athletica studi, founder, owner, trainer

FRANCISCO DAVILA

FOUNDER OF ATHLETICA STUDIO & FITNESS SPECIALIST IN FUNCTIONAL TRAINING 

WHY FUNCTIONAL TRAINING?

Most fitness enthusiasts follow the same pattern. They tend to get bored, change gyms or trainers, fail to achieve their goals.  Some suffer injuries, others develop too much mass and not enough athleticism, they lose their flexibility and end up with a stiff appearance. All this, most likely because they are training the traditional way, muscle isolation.

 

The solution to this is simple. It is called functional training, which is simple, natural movements that are familiar to your body such as: Jumping, carrying, pulling, pushing, throwing, catching, hitting, slamming and balancing. These movements were originally prescribed to people for rehabilitation purposes, but some trainers, like Francisco, have given it a fun twist which turned it into an extremely effective workout that is being used with many athletes.

FRANCISCO'S BACKGROUND

Francisco is the owner and head trainer at Athletica Studio. He believes functional training is a great way to keep your body and mind in a total state of wellness. He emphasizes on core strengthening, postural improvement, cardiovascular endurance, coordination, balance, stabilization.

 

Born in Columbia, from a poor neighborhood and a broken family, turning to sports was his way to stay away from everything that goes on in such an environment. School, soccer, surfing and martial arts kept his body and mind occupied while looking in one direction: his future.

 

With great effort from his mom, he ended up in Canada to start a new life. He then met his wife, best friend and partner Amélie and became the proud father of Luna, Kamélya and Neiva.

 

His mom always told him he was a giver, but he didn't have anything to give until he found fitness. He arrived in Canada in 1995 full of dreams and he’s living one; turning people into heroes, their own personal heroes.

Athletica Studio  •  (514) 315 - 2211

233 Dunbar, Suite 201, Mont-Royal, Québec, H3P 2H4

Athletica Studio, Montreal Gym, functional training, train for life, mind & body

FRANCISCO DAVILA

FONDATEUR ET SPÉCIALISTE EN CONDITIONNEMENT PHYSIQUE DE L'ENTRAÎNEMENT FONCTIONNEL

POURQUOI L’ENTRAÎNEMENT FONCTIONNEL?

 

La plupart des amateurs de santé physique suivent le même modèle. Ils s’ennuient, changent de salle d’entraînement ou d’entraîneur et ne réussissent pas à atteindre leurs buts.  D’autres souffrent de blessures, développent une masse trop importante et ne sont pas assez athlétiques; ils perdent donc leur flexibilité et sont raides. Cela survient parce qu’ils s’entraînent à l’ancienne, en isolant les muscles.

 

La solution à ce problème est toute simple. Il s’agit de l’entraînement fonctionnel correspondant à des gestes simples et naturels, comme : sauter, porter des poids, tirer, pousser, lancer, attraper, frapper, claquer et balancer. Ces mouvements ont d’abord été prescrits aux gens à des fins de réadaptation, mais certains entraîneurs, comme Francisco, leur ont donné un aspect amusant les rendant ainsi très efficaces comme entraînement. De plus, ces mouvements sont utilisés par plusieurs athlètes.

 

L’HISTOIRE DE FRANCISCO

 

Francisco est le propriétaire et l’entraîneur principal d’Athletica Studio. Il croit que l’entraînement fonctionnel est une bonne façon de garder votre corps et votre esprit dans un état de bien-être. Il met l’accent sur le renforcement du tronc, l’amélioration de la posture, l’endurance cardiovasculaire, la coordination, l’équilibre et la stabilité.

 

Né en Colombie, dans un quartier pauvre et au sein d’une famille désunie, le sport a été son salut. L’école, le soccer, le surf et les arts martiaux gardaient son corps et son esprit occupés et centrés sur une chose : l’avenir.

 

Grâce aux efforts de sa mère, il a atterri au Canada pour y entamer une nouvelle vie. Il a ensuite rencontré Amélie, sa femme, meilleure amie et partenaire, et est devenu l’heureux papa de Luna, Kamélya et Neiva.

 

Sa mère lui a toujours dit qu’il était un « donneur »; mais il n’avait rien à donner jusqu’au jour où il a découvert la forme physique. Il est arrivé au Canada en 1995 plein de rêves; maintenant, il en vit un : il fait des gens des héros; leur propre héros.

Athletica Studio  •  (514) 315 - 2211

233 Dunbar, Suite 201, Mont-Royal, Québec, H3P 2H4